Google+

DRC Half Marathon Recap

12

November 3, 2013 by Enoch Nadler

DRC Half Marathon Recap

This morning I competed in the Dallas Running Club Half Marathon at White Rock Lake. After being sick a few weeks back I finally started feeling close to 100% this week so I was excited to get back to racing. My legs felt a little flat from missing workouts and a few runs but I was happy that I no longer had any congestion. I knew I was strong enough to give it a go and grit it out with the other top runners. I feel like I had the right mindset going into the race and I was confident I could still run strong. After running the course last weekend with Barnabas we had decided that we would keep the pace around 5:00 per mile over the first 6-8 miles. We also planned to try and change the pace up early throwing in some light surges and variations of pace to make the other runners uncomfortable. We were confident that if we worked together we would have a great shot of one of us winning the race.
IMG_7891
IMG_7917
Photo Credit: Steve Welch

Photo Credit: Steve Welch

Photo Credit: Roxana Wroblewski

Photo Credit: Roxana Wroblewski

Photo Credit: Roxana Worblewski

Photo Credit: Roxana Worblewski

IMG_7956
Angela and I woke up around 5 but enjoyed the extra hour of sleep due to the time change. It was a cool brisk morning with ideal temps for a half marathon. We made the short drive to the race and I had a nice warm up with Barnabas. My legs felt pretty solid so I was feeling confident and excited to start racing. We knew several Kenyans had showed up from out of town so we were in for a battle. The gun went off and immediately I found myself and four Kenyans out front. One being Barnabas, then Sammy Kiplagat from Austin who we raced in Houston a few weeks back, another was in from Colorado Springs,CO and the final one trains out of Flagstaff, AZ. Over the first few miles we all stayed close and Barnabas and I changed the pace nicely as planned. It felt great to be running on our home course where we do most of our long runs. We hit the first 3 miles in 4:58, 4:58, and 4:59 coming through 5k in 15:28 right on pace. The next few miles had some rolling hills but we stayed right around 5 min pace running 5:04, 5:01, 5:01 hitting 10k in 31:05. At this point my legs were feeling a little heavy but I tried my best to ignore that and pushed on exchanging the lead with the other runners. The next 3 miles were 5:02, 5:03, 5:04 and we hit 9 miles in 45:20. At this point I was starting to feel like my legs were beginning to shut down and that the pace was becoming a bit uncomfortable. I knew that it might not be my day so I pushed to the front one last time with Barnabas and said to him “This is your race and our home course! You got this.” He responded by taking the lead and promptly pushing the pace down close to 4:40 over the next mile. Myself and the other runners tried to respond and I hit mile 10 in 5:03 but at this point I was well off the back of the pack. Only the Kenyan from Flagstaff hung with Barnabas and I could see them exchanging the lead and battling it out over the final miles. I tried my hardest to stay on pace but my legs simply wouldn’t respond. In my past half marathons I’ve finished very strong but today it wasn’t meant to be. I held on the best I could hitting 5:12, 5:11 and 5:15 for the final miles to finish in 1:06:46 for 5th place. Due to some turns near the end I was unable to see if Barnabas had finished first but as soon as I crossed the line he was waiting for me with a big smile and I knew he had won. It turns out it came down to the final meters and he won by two seconds. I was ecstatic that all the hard work we’ve put in the past year had paid off. Even though I was a little disappointed that I wasn’t able to compete for the win I was happy to have run a strong race on an off day. I know that I competed my heart out and left it all on the course… Please forgive me for the clichés but thats how I felt 🙂
IMG_7969
IMG_7986I would like to thank my wife Angela for always supporting me in my running and I truly couldn’t do it without her. I would also like to thank all the family and friends that were out on the course and waiting for me at the finish line. Their support and love was felt on every mile of the course.
I am a little sad that this is the final race of my fall racing season but I am feeling strong and motivated to get back to training. My next big race is the Half Marathon Championships in Houston on January 19th. This is the race where I hope to run under 1:05 and get the qualifying mark for the Olympic Trials. The cool weather the next few months should really help in all the hard work I have ahead of me. I also am making a two week trip over Christmas to an amazing training local that I plan to announce very soon!
Thank you so much for continuing to support me in my Journey and I hope you enjoy the new blog!
IMG_7968
Enoch
<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/11206607/?claim=v6gu9rvjt27″>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>
12 thoughts on “DRC Half Marathon Recap

  1. Congratulations on an amazing race, and on starting the blog! It looks AMAZING, and I’m so excited to continue learning so much from you!

  2. Derek says:

    Go go go !

  3. Auntie Jill says:

    Lovin the blog! GO ENOCH!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  4. piratebobcat says:

    Way to go! Look forward to seeing you again training again around White Rock Lake over the next couple months!

  5. Joe says:

    Running sub 1:07 on an off day should even give you more confidence to reach your goal in Houston. Sometimes its not always about winning the overall race especially when you have positive takeaways. Keep moving forward and cherish every moment along the way. Congrats

    • Enoch Nadler says:

      Joe,

      Thanks so much for the kind words. I’m excited that you’re starting to run again after your short time off. I hope you will start doing long runs with us again soon.
      Thanks,
      Enoch

  6. I’m glad you have this up. Keep on making it instructional about tactics within the race. A great effort. Spareribs

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 38 other followers

