Google+

Recovery, Training, and upcoming Turkey Trot 8 Miler

4

November 10, 2013 by Enoch Nadler

After the DRC half I took a much needed two days off, then it was time to get back to work. After taking Wednesday and Thursday easy, with light 7 and 8 mile runs, I was pleasantly surprised to get a call from Paul Guevara about meeting up for a run.

DSCN1633

DSCN1635

Paul ran for Alabama in College and we raced many times over our collegiate careers. We didn’t know each other in College but we met on one of his recent trips to Dallas when he was visiting his sister. Paul coming to town was just the push I needed to get back into gear. We hit a steady 10 miles at 6:20 pace on Friday, taking full advantage of the cool weather. Then we followed that up with a solid 15 miles at 6:10 pace on Saturday. Not only is it great to have someone to run with since the majority of my running is done alone, but it’s also always great seeing guys from my old college days. I find it motivating to talk about all the big races, struggles, and triumphs that we endured through many seasons of racing. I feel blessed to be back running at a high level again, competing and training to be at my best. I plan to take full advantage of my opportunities this spring and I can’t wait to log some hard months of training in the coming months.

I’ve decided that I am going to run in the Turkey Trot 8 miler on Thanksgiving day
logo
here in Dallas. While my main focus is gearing up for the USA Half Marathon Championships in January I think this will be a fun race to keep me fit along the way. In all my years of running I have never done a race on Thanksgiving day so I’m looking forward to running hard then stuffing my face with lots of great food.
Next week I plan to reveal the location of my two week Christmas trip and the Olympian I will be training with, so be sure to check back soon for this exciting announcement!
Until next time,
Enoch
DSCN1634
4 thoughts on “Recovery, Training, and upcoming Turkey Trot 8 Miler

  1. Great post, and glad you’re back at it! I’m jealous that you’re running the Turkey Trot – it’s SUCH a great race!

  2. Enoch Nadler says:

    I’m excited to run it. Hope you decide to run the one in Tampa!

  3. piratebobcat says:

    Good luck! The Turkey Trot here in Dallas is INSANELY crowded. I’m sure you will, but make sure to get up to the front at the start. There’s no corrals, and so I’ve gotten trapped behind many a walker, dog, or stroller.

  4. Enoch Nadler says:

    Thanks for the heads up Scott! I hope to see you there.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 38 other followers

