Google+

Let the adventure begin!

2

June 7, 2014 by Enoch Nadler

After years of research and longing to see the world, Angela and I have finally pulled the trigger on traveling abroad. We’ve booked a one-way ticket to the coast of Ecuador for June, 28th and plan to travel South & Central America.

It’s bittersweet to say goodbye to Dallas, but the time is right for us to go. I know this may come as a surprise to many of you, but those of you that know us best, know that this dream has been on our minds for quite some time. We know that this decision will require many sacrifices, but we’re ready for the challenge. It is going to be very difficult to say goodbye to all of our friends and family but we are very blessed to have their support and love for this journey.

After two and a half amazing years of training and racing, I’ve decided that it is time for me to step back from competitive running. I know this is a huge shock to most of you but I am ready to pursue other dreams and goals. I plan to use the energy and passion that I have put into running to fuel these dreams. This decision was very difficult and not something that I took lightly. I am very grateful and blessed to have accomplished my goal of qualifying for the Olympic Trials. This feat would not have been achieved without the support I’ve received from family, friends and training partners. Part of me feels like I am letting many of my fans, followers, and fellow runners down. But with the Olympic Trials still over 20 months away I am no longer willing or motivated to continue to train and make the sacrifices that come with running. Those of you that are runners know that running is not a switch that you can turn on and off. If the passion and love are there you can train, and if not it’s time to do something else. I’ve reached that point again in my life and I am unsure if I will ever return to competitive running and I’m at peace with this.

I would like to say thank you to several people that have been instrumental in my running success over the years.

First and foremost I would like to thank my amazing wife Angela! When we first met I had retired from running and I am so grateful that you’ve got to know the running side of Enoch. It has truly been an amazing journey from start to finish and I can’t thank you enough for all of your sacrifices, love, and support.

Next, I would like to thank my amazing training partners Agustin, Barnabas, Disco, Matt M, Jake H, Boo, Andrew D and Kevin L. Over the past few years we’ve shared many a long run, tough workout, sizzling morning, freezing windstorm and tough races. I think of all of you as brothers and I am so thankful to have shared such a special time together.

I also would like to thank my former UF teammate and friend Matt Hensley. I couldn’t have achieved my new PR’s and making the trials without your coaching and guidance. Thanks for all the pep talks and encouragement along the way. You are an amazing friend, teammate ,and coach!

I also would like to thank my mom, brother Noah, and former high school coach, Joe I. You have supported me since my early running days and continue to offer your love support to this day!

Also, I would like to thank the Dallas running community that has welcomed me as their own and shown so much love and support for my running!

Last but not least I would like to thank all of my followers on Facebook and my Blog. You will never know just how much your support and encouragement has helped me along the way. I hope that you’ve enjoyed my journey as much has I have.

I am sorry to anyone that I’ve missed and thanks once again to everyone that has supported me.

Angela and I are excited to begin the next chapter of our life and we can’t wait for our next adventure to begin.

With love,
Enoch

2 thoughts on “Let the adventure begin!

  1. We’re going to miss you guys, but like I said on Facebook, I’m so glad you’re doing what’s right for YOU right now. I know that whatever you do, you’ll be amazing, and you’ve accomplished so many great things already. I hope you and Angela get a chance to sit back and enjoy each other on your journey!!

  2. piratebobcat says:

    Wishing you the best of luck. Can I have some of your speed and endurance while you’re not using it?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 38 other followers

